my story!

Amber
I was due with our first on January 10th. I'm a teacher and had decided to finish the first week of January and start my maternity leave on Friday the 6th. My husband and I are huge college football fans, I pull for Alabama, he pulls for Clemson. We were both convinced that little man would be born the night of the championship game! There was a huge threat of a snow storm starting early Friday.. I was terrified that we were going to get snowed in and send me into labor. I called my ob on Thursday to see if I could get in for a quick check, just to ease my mind that I wasn't heading into labor that weekend because of the storm. The nurse said they were all booked but eased my first time Mom mind and reminded me how many first babies come late and not to worry! I was put it out of my mind, enjoyed a nice dinner with my husband and cuddled on the couch. I got my usual Braxton hicks, very typical, and drifted off to sleep on the couch (also very typical). My hubby woke me up to go to bed, around 11 pm, and I went to brush my teeth and get ready for bed. Going to get into bed, I felt a little gush.. I thought my bladder just leaked a bit. Went to the bathroom and it just kept little gushing. I called my mom who said to go to bed and reasses in the morning .. my husband on the other hand said we wouldn't sleep so what's the point! I was convinced they'd send us home, and I didn't want to be one of those mommas... but he persisted so we calmly drove to the hospital.. smiling, laughing and then my "joe song" came on the radio (Chris Hanson' "holding her) that always made me tear up about my hubby and soon to be baby. It played when we pulled into the hospital and we cried... I knew it was a sign that Joe was on his way! Fast forward a bit, they checked and my water had broken, so we texted and called family but encouraged them to stay home! We were admitted and told to try to rest. I was put on pitocin to get things moving. About 3-4 hours went by and I wa