My labor story

My labor story. 
I can finally tell! 
I've read so many stories on here, so many of them were encouraging. I hope mine can be too. 
Throughout my whole pregnancy I had planned a non medicated vaginal birth at a hospital. I read books, took classes. I had a lot of pressure on myself. I didn't take any pain meds and I prepared my pain tolerance and expected the worst. Well!  At midnight I began having contractions during sleep. From 130 until 4 am I had them frequently every 15-8 mins. I let my husband sleep during this time. I am a night nurse so I'm used to being awake during those hours. So it was bad but I still expected 100x worst so I braced myself mentally. Around 630 am we decide it's real labor and we go for a walk around the block. I was stopping so many times. I was embarrassed bcuz it was morning rush hour and all the cars on the main rode seemed to be witnessing my exaggerated stops. I held on to my husband and we swayed. After getting home, my mom (mother of 7) came and was like "you need to go to the hospital". I kept refusing because I wanted  to labor at home for as long as I can to increase chance of non medicated birth . It hurt soooo bad but in between contractions I could laugh and talk. My mom persuaded me and at 1130 am we left. We checked in..I thought the nurse was going to say I was 2cm -expecting worst but..I was hoping no less than 4 dilated or I was going to be mad I came so early. 
The nurse checked and I was 6CM !!!! 
I was roomed and I gave them my birth plan. They respected it and tried to go by it as much as they could. 
They helped me labor and we set a 3 hour later check time to see my progress. So they allows me to labor without checking me or really bothering me.