3 weeks early!

Samantha • We are expecting baby girl #2 on 10/31! Can't believe the changes coming!I work full time as a Vet Tech and live in Maine.

This is long, and I apologize for that!!

I finally have a chance to share my birth story from my second daughter. The two deliveries were incredibly different.

My first daughter, my water broke at 37+6 and she was born on 38 weeks after over 21 hours of labor and over 3 hours of pushing.

Well, I had gone in on Saturday, 10/8 and was put on the monitor for about 3.5 hours. I was dilated to a 2-3. I was told that I was in early labor and to come back if my contractions were to get worse. They had started the Wednesday before.

By Wednesday, 10/11, I was at work that morning (work as a Veterinary Technician) and was getting more intense contractions that would stop me in my tracks here and there. I was only in for a half day, as I was starting to cut back a bit due to a hernia and the constant contractions. When I left, I called my OB and they sent me to L&D; again to be checked.

I stopped and visited my 2 year old first just in case, and my MIL offered to bring me so I wouldn't be alone. She watches our daughter for us while we work. When I got there, I was a solid 3cm. They put me on the monitor for about 20 minutes and then I walked around. 2.5 hours later, I was 4cm. They still weren't convinced I was in active labor yet, but weren't ready to send me home (thankfully). They wanted to monitor me again for another 2 hours and check me again. At around 5:40pm, they still hadn't made it back in to hook me back up to the monitor, and they were going to be rechecking me between 6/6:30, so I hooked myself up again.