Divorce?

Just curious as to how many relationships out there fall apart because of financial issues.

My husband and I filed our taxes today and he’s pretty upset that we owe for state and are only getting $250 back for federal. I didn’t expect a large refund because he was promoted at work & during summer with all the overtime, he claimed 9 dependents. (He does this to get more money back during the year, but he does not do it the entire year.)

I also didn’t tell him that I pulled $1,000 for my 401k to pay financial aid back. (I got audited over the summer and had to pay $3,000 back because I entered something wrong. If I did a payment plan, I couldn’t register for school and I was one quarter away from getting my bachelors degree. I’ve been working on my bachelors for 4 years.) I didn’t tell him because we keep our finances separate anyways during the year so I didn’t think it would matter to him, but apparently it does because it’s my fault we owe the state. We pay our lady $100 & usually goes half on it. Well after I gave the lady my card, I told my husband to transfer me the half & he told me to fuck off. He said because of our refund, he isn’t giving me shit & that it’s my fault we aren’t getting anywhere with our future. (We’ve been together for 12 years & have a 6 year old and a newborn) we don’t have a house yet because we live in California & we realistically cannot afford anything out here at the moment.

On the way home, he just kept yelling at me saying that I always bring him down & he had things to pay off, but now he can’t because I’m in the way. He said that next year, he’s filing in his own & he doesn’t think we will make it to next year. He said to just give him a divorce so he can finally grow in life. We’ve obviously had other financial struggles in the past, but things had been going so well after our son was born, I didn’t think it’d flip a switch that fast.