Post-Grad Life Sucks

Vay

I graduated a month ago and I’m already over it. I don’t want to sound like a whining millennial, but I feel cheated by school, health care, taxes, etc. See, I work now at a job that has 0 room for growth, in the field I want to be in, yes. The problem is I started the last quarter of my senior year and they offered me a very low wage because I hadn’t obtained my degree. Kicker is I’m not even learning anything, I’m a department of 1, no health benefits, no PTO.

I recently interviewed at a job I really wanted. The pay was more than what my dad first made out of grad school, the commute was 15 minutes, 6 weeks Sick/ FMLA/ PTO, minimal paid travel to LA from where I am in Dallas. Amazing. Aced the phone interview. I show up to the in person interview and I am supposed to interview with 2 ppl. The second person has an emergency and must leave. I have my interview anyway with 1 person, and she says she wants to move forward, but she mentions I must meet with that second person first before she can make a decision, everyone I’ve meet with can discuss. This is fine, things happen, but every hour I’m not at my current job I’m losing money, and my reputation tanks too. I schedule to meet again. 3pm on Friday. Now this is where things get cringe.

I arrive on time, clean, beautiful hair, I smell nice, prepared, copies of my resume, the whole lot. As I’m introducing myself he explains that it’s Friday, it’s 3, and he lives an hour away so he’d like to get out of here. At this point I’m thinking “oh great, both of us are wasting our time! Perfect, glad I took a half day for THIS” mind you, he scheduled this 🙃. Then we sit, he asks me my first question and I answer completely, using all the jargon I’m familiar with, and he puts his pen down and says “Look, I can tell you’re smart, I just want to have a casual conversation, I don’t make the final decision, I just want to have a quick 10-15 minute chat.”