Infertility journey

Ashley

My husband and I have been TTC since getting married 5 years ago. Last year my OB GYN started bloodwork and determined I was not ovulating. All of my levels checked out and husband’s semenalysis looked good so it was deemed unexplained infertility. I took clomid and had timed intercourse for 3 cycles. We did not get pregnant on any of the cycles but the medicine did cause me to ovulate.

I started seeing a RE last summer. Prior to starting a protocol, I had lots of bloodwork, genetic testing, and a HSG procedure. The doctor prescribed Femara and I did trigger shots with timed intercourse. We did this for 2 cycles and didn’t get pregnant.

I consider myself a very healthy person. I eat well, don’t drink or smoke, and exercise regularly. I am almost 30 and already hear the clock ticking. I never thought I’d have trouble getting pregnant. I’m a teacher and I absolutely love kids. In fact, we ultimately want to have 3 or 4. Lately it’s been hard to imagine even having the first one.

This month I started

<a href="https://glowing.com/glow-fertility-program">IVF</a>

. Initial ultrasound showed that I have 29 pre-follicles. I had to take birth control for 10 days then started taking follistim on Sunday. It hasn’t been very painful. The only difference I feel so far is the bloating. Today is day 4 of my 12 scheduled days of meds. Next week I add ganirelix to my meds to keep my body from ovulating before the retrieval. I’ve heard stories of how painful that shot is, so I’m nervous about it. My retrieval should be next Friday or Saturday.

I’m not sure what to expect with the retrieval, genetic testing, and FET. I really hope this is it for us! It’s comforting to know that if we have multiple viable embryos, we can freeze them to use next pregnancy. My biggest fear is just that we won’t have any viable embryos. I’d love to hear stories of your journeys and advice from those who have been through the