Hard discussions ahead

Rachel • mrs bear 10.5.19 TTC baby bear #1

I started a new job nearly 4 months ago for the state’s DODD. It’s been rough and very different for me. The last 5 years I’ve been a medical assistant, the last 4 in a cardiology office. I was stressed out and wasn’t making nearly enough for the hour commute. I got my current job making $3 more on the hour, moved in with my fiancé, and it is 12 minutes away from our house. The work I do is unpredictable. I’m working for a state ran developmental disabilities housing campus (comprised of 5 buildings, and over 70 individuals). While it’s DODD many of the 20-40 year olds are more behavior issues than direct care, some are court ordered here and can be violent. I have had my hair pulled, I’ve been bite 4 times, and have had to final several workers comp claims due to getting blood drawn. Needless to say it’s not what I expected! I’m getting to the point where I am coming into my own but it’s so unpredictable and somewhat scary. I don’t know if I’m going to be in a hold with anyone, get bite, going to get hurt or anything. The last 2 weeks have been great but I don’t know how long I can do this. My schedule is all over the place and sometimes I don’t get two days off in a row. I’ve applied to a few places making the same or more. I have a request for an interview from one working back in a medical office. I really don’t want to be the person to leave after less than 6 months but I also don’t want to wait until I get hurt severely and have to be off work because of it. I’m getting married in October and my fiancé and I are really wanting to have a family soon. We’ve discussed going to a specialist to look into it more as I was diagnosed with some PCOS but do not know the extent of it. What do I do?