Some Breastfeeding Basics for new moms.

Lily • Doula and Lactation Consultant

Hey guys! I'm a lactation consultant student. Realized one of the biggest things lacking when doing my hours was prenatal education about breastfeeding, so I thought I would make a quick post about some basics.

First off I want to say, I will be talking about some of the benefits of breastfeeding. This means no offence to parents who choose to formula feed since every scenario is difference. I was totally formula and bottle fed! I do have one piece of advice, which is to pair it with probiotics to help create a healthy gut environment.

For women who are struggling between debating on the two, breastmilk does naturally help gut flora, keeps the baby's immune system as high as possible, contains natural iron that the baby absorbs easily (as opposed to formula), is free, is perfectly balanced to the baby, and actually adapts depending on the baby's needs from input from the baby's saliva (crazy, but true!).

Breast milk also naturally coats the intestinal wall to prevent unwanted things from entering your baby's bloodstream. One bottle of formula disrupts this for 6 weeks, along with the baby's PH level. The best example of this, is that in countries where other options are unavailable, if a women is HIV positive and exclusively breastfeeds, this coating helps prevents the baby from contracting HIV compare to women who used formula and breastfed.

So if you are having issues, it's better to pump and use a bottle than supplement with formula, or use donor breastmilk. If those aren't options, don't feel guilty because a fed baby is always what is best.

OK onto some more Breastfeeding info.

The two biggest problems I have noticed when seeing parents who have a baby that is not gaining weight, is difficulty recognizing hunger cues, and having expectations on sleeping and feeding cycles.