PREGNANCY SCARE? Read this for info.

Nurse Anais • I am a registered nurse in Melbourne, Australia! Both parents are Doctors, so ask away! I have a 2 year old daughter!

For the ladies undergoing a pregnancy scare..

PREGNANCY SYMPTOMS OR PRE-AF SYMPTOMS: 

This one is a tough one for you ladies, as they are almost identical. Some early pregnancy symptoms include: 

1. Nausea 
  2. Light period-like cramps
  3. Heart burn 
  4. Increase in urination
  5. Constipation 
  6. Acne 
  7. Watery discharge 
  8. Implantation bleeding 
  9. Of course, a missed period

Most of these symptoms can also be linked with premenstrual symptoms. The only way to tell the difference is to wait and take a pregnancy test. You can have pregnancy symptoms as early as implantation (6-12 days past ovulation). 

IMPLANTATION BLEEDING OR PREMENSTRUAL SPOTTING.. OVULATION?

Keep in mind the timing of the spotting. For women with normal cycles, you ovulate 2 weeks after the end of your period, which means your next period would be in another 2 weeks after you ovulate. If you are spotting 2 weeks after your period, you are most likely having ovulation bleeding. Just because you've never had it, doesn't mean it won't happen. Ovulation bleeding is normally light bleeding (pink). Other symptoms of ovulation include clear-eggy discharge. This discharge is your cervical mucus, it helps guide and protect the sperm on its long journey. Another symptom is your temperature. When you first wake up in the morning and you are ovulating, your temperature will be slightly higher than normal. You may also experience period-like cramping.