Things don't go as planned, and it's OKAY.

Lauren

This post is going to be about my journey, but also I hope it helps other moms who might be struggling when things haven't gone as planned. This will be a long post girls.

My pregnancy was near perfect, and I was blessed to experience an easy time as a first timer. My plan was to work until I went into labor. I work as a paraprofessional in a middle school, so easy work to get me to the end. Boy was I wrong..

At 34 weeks I was diagnosed with mild preeclampsia, and put on bed rest for 3 weeks until I would be induced at 37 weeks. This was not my plan, I needed to work for a paycheck. Those 3 weeks of bedrest took away 3 extra weeks with my baby girl once she arrived. But you know what, I was able to relax for 3 weeks and I am thankful for that time. It wasn't my plan but it turned out OKAY.

Now we get to our induction day. It was to start with a balloon foley for dilation, start pitocin, then break my water. The Foley got me to 4cm. The pitocin was started early in the morning at a low level. Then my water was broke. As the day progressed, the pitocin kept getting upped, I had contractions that I barely felt and I wasn't in any pain. After 18 hours the pitocin is maxed out and I'm finally having painful contractions but I'm only at 6cm and haven't progressed for hours. The pitocin gets cut back and my body takes a break and the contractions slow way down. 26 hours after my water is broke and I'm still at 6cm. Its finally decided that I need to have a csection. This was not my plan..at all. I feared this so much and was sad I wouldn't have the initial skin to skin with my baby. This was not my plan, but it was OKAY. It turns out, baby girl was coming sunny side up and turned sideways and was never going to come vaginally. Both myself and baby are healthy and that's all that matters.