Sharing my story...

On August 27th, I took a pregnancy test for the first time and saw a faint positive. I couldn’t breathe. There was no way. I’d barely been off birth control for a month at this point so I decided I would take another test in the morning. On August 28th, I took a digital test, the countdown stopped, and there on the little screen was the word, “pregnant.” I was in total shock though my husband was delighted. I felt so sick on my drive to work that morning and was a nervous wreck when I told my best friend and continued to ask her questions about her pregnancy the year before.

Fast forward to September 24th. My husband and I went to our very first appointment. We saw our little blob and found out we were 6 weeks and 5 days and that the due date was May 14th. I had expected the worst and seeing that heartbeat and getting the congratulations eased my worries.

Fast forward again to October 8th. After a busy day as a high school teacher, I finally get a potty break at 3:00 o’clock when the last student walks out of my room. To my utter horror, there was dark brown discharge in my panties and when I wiped. Knowing my mom’s history of miscarriage and issues with pregnancy, I was mortified. I automatically thought the worst and knew I was miscarrying. I tried to call my OB to no avail and thus decided to go to the ER. At the ER, my doctors and nurses showed no real concern. Like this entire situation was completely normal despite my anxiety surrounding the situation. Knowing I was supposed to be a little over 8 weeks pregnant at this point, the only examinations I had was a pelvic exam and blood work. I was thus diagnosed with a UTI and sent home with a prescription for antibiotics.