Swallow Your Pride

I hate being on wic. I do. We work hard. But my youngest needs specialized formula. It’s expensive. Like one of our whole checks a month.

We hide it. Our tiny little town is so small, but we also qualify for SNAP. We could get maybe $123 a month to help with groceries. Which in turn would free up some money for diapers.

Today I drove to the wic office to turn in a form from our pediatrician. They told me SNAP could have covered some extra formula I needed when they were closed. I told them I didn’t have Snap. My husband won’t let me apply.

He hates getting a hand out. I hate it too. I’m embarrassed. I have a bachelors degree. He has a masters. He works for a nonprofit. And I stay at home. To put our kids in childcare would

Cost more than I’d make. Not to mention in

Small town West Virginia, there aren’t a lot of great daycares. I was a free lance curriculum writer, but when we moved a couple of years

Ago, that dried up. But the truth is, the 13 year old car we have needs like a grand in repairs. The electrical went out on me twice on the drive to the wic office on a mountain . And I’m trying to get us to the place we can buy a better used car.

I came home and told him even for a little while $100 a month in groceries could help us feed the kids and maybe fix the car so I don’t break down with my newborn.

He got really angry. He said he works hard. And he does. And he can’t justify taking another handout. He swallows his pride for the kids and wic. And there hard enough. Well, this would be for the kids too. It would be some more fruit. It would be some more veggies. It would be a safer car eventually. We live in the mountains, I was actually scared the car was gonna fail on the downhill grade. I never even made it to the store for formula.

Honestly, I don’t want people to know we get government help. But we pay taxes. I’m a good

Mom. He’s a good dad. He works super hard. But we make less than $3000 a month. And that’s before taxes!