Sex/Relationship/Guy Advice

So I just wanted to get some input from you ladies. Long story short, a guy cares about me, I'd say likes me but has always told me he's not ready for a relationship right now. Me being young, in love, and a bit new to all this, of course doesn't want to believe it. I can't understand how he can kiss me and call me beautiful and hold me and cuddle, but still after sex say, "at this point we are becoming friends with benefits." Another thing, I'm still rather new to all the sexual stuff. This guy has been the best and most experienced that I've had so far. I'm saying that with only two bfs before (I'm 20) and I have only been single for a few months now. Point being, how is casual sex different from "meaningful" sex? Because based on everything we've done and what he's said to me, we should be together, but obviously that isn't the case. I guess as a newb, idk what stuff during sex is just sex, in the moment, and what stuff during sex is like an emotional connection. Is this just how girls tend to get hurt and guys leave unscathed? Or am I just young and hopelessly in love and over analyzing him to try and keep hoping for something that he says isn't there? Idk. No idea. No experience. Help. Maybe the casual sex scene isn't my thing and I'm more exclusive, cuz im a very emotionally driven person, idk.